My eyes are upon You, O God the Lord;
In You I take refuge; You will not leave my soul destitute. (Psalm 141:8)

I cry out to You, O Lord,
And say, “You are my refuge,
My portion in the land of the living.” (Psalm 142:5)

Hear my prayer, O Lord,
Give ear to my supplications!
Answer me in Your faithfulness and righteousness. (Psalm 143:1)

Let me hear Your unfailing love in the morning,
For I have put my trust in You.
Show me the way I should walk,
For to You I lift up my soul. (Psalm 143:8)

May I not withhold good from those to whom it is due,
When it is in my power to act. (Proverbs 3:27)

May I not plan evil against my neighbor,
Since he lives trustfully by me. (Proverbs 3:29)

May I not strive with a man without cause,
If he has done me no harm. (Proverbs 3:30)

May I not enter the path of the wicked
Or walk in the way of evil men. (Proverbs 4:14)

May I put away perversity from my mouth
And keep corrupt talk far from my lips. (Proverbs 4:24)

May I not wear myself out to get rich;
Give me the understanding to cease.
May I not set my desire on what flies away,
For wealth surely sprouts wings
And flies into the heavens like an eagle. (Proverbs 23:4-5)

Lord, I thank You for Your eternal word and for the power and wisdom of Jesus Christ. I thank You for the joy of Your presence, and I ask that I would grasp the brevity of life and desire to overcome evil with good. I pray that I would view my interactions with others with careful intention, seeking to reflect your character, your will, pointing them in a clear direction toward you. May you be honored by my efforts, and that credit be given to you.
(adapted from ‘Daily Growth’ for September 9th, by Ken Boa)

Leave a Reply

