A Counselor’s Guarded Speech

Today’s events and school activities reminded me again, that I need to guard what I say. Whatever is said by a public educator, especially a school counselor is similar to putting the statement into newsprint. Criticism of a community issue, a community person, or stating a personal opinion can go from student to parent to other community members. I know that if I want to be heard, I need to listen. Yet I also want to be honest, up front, and a positive force for good. At times I am convinced that if I do not state my opinion, I am enabling a negative behavior to continue and develop. If I am silent, I am not following my convictions. When another person or group becomes involved in a counterproductive action, or even sinful course of action, I need to take responsibility to confront. Yet there are adverse consequences tostating my opinion or the truth. Psalms 17:28 states that it is better to be thought of a fool and not open one’s mouth than to open one’s mouth and remove all the doubt. Other references include: Mark 9:50 – “Salt is good, but if the salt has lost its saltiness, how will you make it salty again? Have salt in yourselves, and be at peace with one another.”

Luke 14:34 –
“Salt is good, but if salt has lost its taste, how shall its saltiness be restored?

Colossians 4:6
Let your speech always be gracious, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how you ought to answer each person.
Working in a public school is similar to a fish bowl. Everyone is watching and listening. It takes great discernment when to speak and when not to speak. Discernment that takes advantage of each opportunity to glorify our Lord, not ourselves, our own knowledge and insight, our pride of knowing the inside scoop.

Leave a Reply

