Security and A Sense of Belonging

Counseling is an effort to encourage stability, security, confidence, and a sense of belonging in an individual’s life. Some counseling theories utilize an understanding of the person’s past, especially their childhood experiences. Others focus on life’s scripts and patterns of behavior. I’m over simplifying, but a true sense of belonging comes from a radical change in one’s nature. By ditching the pursuit of power, pleasure and / or possessions, to pursuing goals that have lasting value can only come from a deep belief in the provisions that have been made, are being made, and will be made through the Scriptural fulfillment of Jesus. If a counselee or client is willing to pursue goals higher than power, possessions or pleasure, true and lasting change can happen in a person’s life.
Psalms 27 states: For he will hide me in his shelter in the day of trouble; he will conceal me under the cover of his tent; he will lift me high upon a rock. And now my head shall be lifted up above my enemies all around me, and I…

Leave a Reply

